Repair.IT – Wise 2086 Professional Electronic Tension Head

Occasionally, in the electronic repair world – we may be unable to obtain replacement parts. In a situation like this, we then have to resort to replacing the module that has failed, either with modules from the manufacturer or modules that have a similar function.

This is about my Wise 2086 Professional Electronic Tension Head – which is mounted on my Spinfire Flame Stringing Machine. The tension head allows the string to be gripped, then pulled linearly until the required tension is reached – then, if constant pull is enabled, it will continue to keep that tension. A couple of weeks ago, I noticed that one of the segments on the second LED display didn’t light up. For those who know about 7 segment LED displays, it was the B segment. Sometimes like today, on powerup – it will be working.

SONY DSC

Wise 2086 Tension Head – display working

But then later on, the B segment will stop.

SONY DSC

Wise 2086 Tension Head – display not working properly

A couple of weeks ago, I emailed an enquiry to the supplier in Melbourne, Tennis Warehouse – from where I purchased this stringing machine about three years ago. I asked about any problems if I open up the tension head and mentioned the display problem. I had heard on the internet that occasionally, opening up the tension head would give an error on next powerup, that would require some procedure to be followed. I received a quick response that this will not happen, and that the screws are different lengths – something to watch out for when I open the case. Also that the display board is available for $45.

Just a week ago, on Friday, once I had finished stringing a few racquets – I opened up the case, then had to remove the main carriage to get to the display board. I removed the board and checked the part number of the LED display. It was a HS-3101AS – which is a 0.3 inch display but in a larger housing with 10 pins. I checked my usual supplier – element14, to no avail – this part didn’t appear to be available and I was unable to find an equivalent. A search on the internet also gave me a possible equivalent – HS-3101AX, but this also didn’t help.

I could find other similar size displays but when I check the pin connections, those are in two columns of five pins, 5 mm between columns, but mine are 7.62mm between columns. I could find it on alibaba, except that they only indicate it as being an integrated circuit will no actual photograph – so I was hesitant at ordering something, sight unseen. I decided then, to bite the bullet and order a replacement display board. I had to email a photo of the display board so that they could confirm the correct replacement. Then on Thursday – my replacement board arrived.

SONY DSC

Display board for Wise 2086

SONY DSC

Display board for Wise 2086

The top on is the original, version 3.1 and the replacement is at the bottom – version 3.3. Some slight differences – the main thing being that the speaker was moved, making it much easier to install the board.

SONY DSC

Wise 2086 Tension Head

Here is a photo of the board installed – at the top. Previously the speaker would get in the way of my fingers when trying to remove and install the small brass nut.

SONY DSC

Wise 2086 Tension Head

Then a photo with the carriage mounted back on.

Next thing to do is to work on one of the base clamps on the stringing machine – which had been causing problems that it would unlock, when I didn’t want it to. Tennis Warehouse sent me a replacement base clamp at the same time as the display board which was very good of them.

The motto of the story is that you cannot always replace component parts – in fact, not many companies will do this, even for manufacturers – they usually replace the module. Sometimes, if the modules are valuable – they are returned to the factory for refurbishment – which usually means replacing the faulty components, but not always. The common factory refurbished cameras and whitegoods – are usually just repaired with replacement modules – often happens with goods that are dead on arrival, they go back – repaired by swapping modules, then comes back out as factory refurbished at a very good price and with warranty, generally.

Leave a Reply

